Your Application To Date Me

by Sanguinely Yours

On-line dating is so much like hiring a new employee. As a potential employee you take the time to write a resume or fill out a job application in entirety. You do so to get the job. Similarly, your on-line dating profile is your application to date me or some other luck girl. These sites ask you questions like “What are you doing with your life?”, “What was the last book you read?”, “What are you looking for in another person?” for a reason. So we, your potential date, can get an idea of who you are. If you leave it blank or give some flippant remark, what is your allure?

Why the heck should I hire you, if you can’t even tell me about yourself?. It is dumbfounding. Just as each employer has their own individual selection process, I have mine. When it comes to online dating, these are some things that will get you eliminated from the pool faster than the speed of light and some questions that come to mind when I read a profile.

Photos: This is the very FIRST thing I see when I look at a profile, so photos count. I am mindful that not everyone photographs well, so he doesn’t have to be gorgeous, but he should to fit into my parameters. If photos contain any of the following they will not even be considered:

~The self-photos and the varying versions.
Do you not socialize? Do you not have friends that can take a decent photograph of you?

~Muscle Flaunting Posers. Are you vain? self-absorbed? Are you going to be critical of my aging body when I’m fifty? If you are fond of how fit your body is, post a photo of you running in a race or climbing a mountain, not of you pulling your shirt up to show of the six-pack. Subtlety goes a long way.

~Tongues, Guns, and other stupidities. I do not want to see photos of a strangers tongue and I most certainly do not want to see a photo of a gun pointed at me. Why? What are your goals in life? If you are trying to be funny, find a different way. Humor often needs to be appreciated in person.

The Non-Contenders

The Non-Contenders

Another Caveat:
Self-Summery / In your own words: This is hopefully where I can get an essence of who you are. To determine what sets you apart from the rest.

~Emptiness / Half-asked: Void of thought and/or character. Why would I go any further with this profile if he is going to be a lazy and disconnected? If you have only posted photos and not filled in the rest. Do you only care that your date think you are attractive? Do you not care what she might think of you as an individual? Do you not know who you are?

~Generic: Some of these could have been clumped into the half-asked pile, however I appreciate initiative and it can go a very long way. My personal issue with these profiles, is that they take on a rote quality, almost as if they just don’t know what to say, so they say what is expected. I do not know one person who doesn’t like the outdoors, so to open with a statement such as, “I like the outdoors” does not say anything about you, its like saying “I am alive”. Well of course your alive. What about the outdoors do you like?

I know writing a profile isn’t easy, but you are obviously on one of these sites because you hope to meet someone interesting, someone with potential. So please take the time to think about who you are as an individual and what you want.

Sanguinely Yours,
xo xo


Slow Club


Carolina Chocolate Drops

